Monday, January 16, 2017

Cartoon of the Day: The Winery


Lefty Award Nominees

The Lefty awards will be voted on at the convention and presented at a banquet on Saturday, March 18, at the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort. Congratulations to all the Nominees!

Lefty for Best Humorous Mystery Novel. This year’s nominees are:
  • Donna Andrews, Die Like an Eagle (Minotaur Books)
  • Ellen Byron, Body on the Bayou (Crooked Lane Books)
  • Timothy Hallinan, Fields Where They Lay (Soho Crime)
  • Heather Haven, The CEO Came DOA (Wives of Bath Press)
  • Johnny Shaw, Floodgate (Thomas & Mercer)
  • Diane Vallere, A Disguise To Die For (Berkley Prime Crime)
Lefty for Best Historical Mystery Novel (Bruce Alexander Memorial) for books covering events before 1960. This year’s nominees are:
  • Rhys Bowen, Crowned and Dangerous (Berkley Prime Crime)
  • Susanna Calkins, A Death Along the River Fleet (Minotaur Books)
  • Laurie R. King, The Murder of Mary Russell (Bantam Books)
  • Catriona McPherson, The Reek of Red Herrings (Minotaur Books)
  • Ann Parker, What Gold Buys (Poisoned Pen Press)
Lefty for Best Debut Mystery Novel. The nominees are:
  • Sarah M. Chen, Cleaning Up Finn (All Due Respect Books)
  • Marla Cooper, Terror in Taffeta (Minotaur Books)
  • Alexia Gordon, Murder in G Major (Henery Press)
  • Nadine Nettmann, Decanting a Murder (Midnight Ink)
  • Renee Patrick, Design for Dying (Forge)
Lefty for Best Mystery Novel (not in other categories). The nominees are:
  • Matt Coyle, Dark Fissures (Oceanview Publishing)
  • Gigi Pandian, Michelangelo’s Ghost (Henery Press)
  • Louise Penny, A Great Reckoning (Minotaur Books)
  • Terry Shames, The Necessary Murder of Nonie Blake (Seventh Street Books)
  • James W. Ziskin, Heart of Stone (Seventh Street Books)
The Left Coast Crime Convention is an annual event sponsored by mystery fans, both readers and authors. Usually held in the western half of North America, LCC’s intent is to host an event where readers, authors, critics, librarians, publishers, and other fans can gather in convivial surroundings to pursue their mutual interests. Lefty Awards have been given since 1996.

The 27th annual Left Coast Crime Convention will take place in Honolulu, Hawaii, March 16–19, 2017. Faye Kellerman and Jonathan Kellerman will be honored with Left Coast Crime Lifetime Achievement Awards. This year’s Guests of Honor are authors Dana Stabenow (American Guest of Honor) and Colin Cotterill (International Guest of Honor). Author Laurie R. King will serve as Toastmaster. 

The Glass Key Award: Ane Riel

For some reason I didn't see any notification of the winner of The Glass Key Award (The Scandinavian Crime Society Award), so I asked my friend Sue Trowbridge to do a search, since she's fluent in Swedish. Thanks, Sue! Harpiks is not yet translated into English.

Danish author Ane Riel gets 25th Glass Key 

August 8, 2016

The Scandinavian Crime Society (SKS) is pleased to announce that the Society Grand Prize, The Glass Key 2016 is awarded to the Danish author Ane Riel for Harpiks. Harpiks is no typical crime novel, but both a nasty and poignant portrayal of young Liv's upbringing. She begins her story: "It was dark in the white room, where my father killed my grandmother."

 Harpiks has in its homeland been awarded the Danish Crime Academy Harald Mogensen Prize for best Danish thriller.

Additional information about the author can be found at

The Glass Key was awarded for the 25th time. The first recipient was Henning Mankell, who won the award for Faceless Killers, the start of his blockbuster series about Ystad commissioner Kurt Wallander. Altogether, Sweden has won 8 Glass Keys, Denmark and Norway 7 each, Iceland and Finland 2 each.

Other nominees for this anniversary year were: Kati Hiekkapeito: Suojattomat (in en. The Defenseless.") FI Yrsa Sigurðadottír: DNA. ICE Kjell Ola Dahl: Kureren. NO. Anders de la Motte: Ultimatum. SE